University of Evansville

AceNotes Today

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Info You Should Know

* ACES Flexible Spending Account - Annual Election Limit Increased to $5000

The ACES  health care flexible spending account limit was reduced from $5000 to $2500 for 2012-13 to comply with regulations in President Obama's 2010 Federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.  After our plan year began on June 1, the University received guidance that the implementation of this particular mandate in the healthcare law has been delayed.  Therefore, the University of Evansville is providing an opportunity for benefit-eligible employees to:
•         Change your 2012-13 ACES flex healthcare election amount up to a maximum of $5000 (if you are already a participant).
•         Enroll in the ACES flex healthcare plan for 2012-13 (if you are not already a participant).

If you do not wish to make any changes (to your annual election or enrollment status), you do NOT need to do anything.  If you want to make a change, please complete  an election form (available in the Office of Human Resources) and return it to Human Resources no later than Thursday, August 9. Changes to flex deductions will begin on the August 17 bi-weekly payroll and will continue through May 31, 2013.  No changes can be made until next year for the ACES dependent care flexible accounts.

Please contact the Office of Human Resources at ext. 2943 with any questions.



* Paul Bone and Rob Griffith

Congratulations to creative writing faculty Paul Bone and Rob Griffith for their recent panel appearance at the University of the South's Sewanee Writers' Conference (, where they had been invited along with editors Speer Morgan of the Missouri Review, John Irwin of the Hopkins Review, Mary Flinn of Blackbird, and Willard Speigelman of the Southwest Review to discuss the current state of literature and publishing.



* Two Aces Named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars

Former University of Evansville golfers Michael Sainz and Griffin Wood were named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars by the Golf Coaches Association of America.  It marked the second time each has been honored with the prestigious award.A total of 146 players in Division I earned the honor.  To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 70-percent of his team’s competitive rounds or compete in the NCAA Championships, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Both Sainz and Wood recently completed their senior seasons with the Aces and made lasting impacts on the program.  Sainz finished his career with a stroke average of 75.13, the third lowest since 1990.  His efforts were recognized by the Missouri Valley Conference as he was named a 2012 MVC Scholar-Athlete Honorable Mention. 

Sainz had a stellar fall in 2011, finishing in a tie for fifth at the UD Invitational and tied for sixth at the SIUE Intercollegiate to wrap up play in the early season.  He tallied a 78 or lower in each round of the fall season as a senior.

Boonville, Ind. native Griffin Wood also received the honor for the second time in his UE career.  Wood wrapped up his career with a stroke average of 75.00, the second best for the Aces since 1990.  He led UE in average for the senior season (74.41) and the spring of 2012 (74.60).

Wood recorded five top ten finishes in his final season at Evansville, led by a third place finish in the season-opening Fossum Invitational. 

Division I Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars

Abraham Ancer, Oklahoma
Troy Anderson, Denver
Spencer Anderson, Duke
Josh Apple, George Mason
Nicholas Austin, Richmond
Sebastian Backlund, Francis Marion
Philip Bagdade, Arizona
Blayne Barber, Auburn
Thomas Bass, UNCW
Evan Beck, Wake Forest
Lee Bedford, Wake Forest
Jack Belote, Memphis
Russel Boring, UC Santa Barbara
Christopher Brant, Iowa
Matt Brown, Furman
Tom Brown, Mississippi
Nicholas Brown, Southern Miss
Zahkai Brown, Colorado State
Hunter Brown, UTA
Max Buckley, SMU
Russell Budd, DePaul
Chris Burger, Xavier
TJ Carpenter, Ball State
Bruno Carvalho, IPFW
John Catlin, New Mexico
Derek Chang, Augusta State
Daniel Charen, Ohio State
David Chung, Stanford
Anthony Conn, Youngstown State
Chad Day, NC State
John De Beer, TCU
Trey DelGreco, Vanderbilt
Breandon Doyle, Columbia
Tyler Duncan, Purdue
Miguel Echavarria, Michigan
Alex Edfort, Pacific
Dan Ellis, Michigan State
David Ellis, Michigan State
Anders Engell, Saint Mary’s (Calif.)
Rhys Enoch, East Tennessee State
David Erdy, Indiana
Jeff Evans, Southern Utah
Finley Ewing IV, Texas Tech
Benjamin Feld, Drexel
Preston Fielding, Penn
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA
Brian Fister, Eastern Kentucky
Hank Frame, Washington State
Dylan Frittelli, Texas
Joe Gasser, Ball State
Ben Geyer, Saint Mary’s (Calif.)
Brendan Gillins, Augusta State
Joshua Granger, UC Davis
Paul Grauer, Ohio
Kristopher Gray, Gardner-Webb
Austin Gray, Longwood
Mitch Gray, Campbell
Ben Greene, Kennesaw State
Antonio Grillo, Harvard
Eric Grimberg, Saint Mary’s (Calif.)
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Hunter Hamrick, Alabama
Charlie Harrison, Wake Forest
Ricky Hearden, Illinois State
Michael Hebert, Auburn
Robert Hoadley UNCG
David Holtgrewe, Oral Roberts
John Duke Hudson, College of Charleston
Charlie Hughes, Washington
Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
Drew Imel, IPFW
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga
Jeff Karlsson, Kennesaw State
Daniel Kim, Gardner-Webb
Leon Knoll, San Diego
Richard Lamb, Tennessee
Scott Landreth, Akron
Tony Lazzara, Ball State
McLain Leberte, South Alabama
Steve Lee, Memphis
Kenny Leech, Longwood
Martin Liu, George Washington
Olafur Loftsoon, Charlotte
Nicholas Losole III, Northwestern
Chris Malec, Louisville
Ryan McCarthy, Loyola (Md.)
Patrick McCormick, Loyola (Md.)
Brian McKenna, St. Bonaventure
Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor
Mat Miller, San Francisco
Bosten Miller, Marshall
Brad Miller, Richmond
Kevin Miller, Kent State
Tyler Mitchell, Charlotte
Chris Mory, Michigan State
Johnnie Motomochi, Oregon State
Mark Mumford, Tulsa
John Dawson Neufeld, Seton Hall
Alfonso Otoya, Jacksonville State
Brinson Paolini, Duke
Brandon Park, Seton Hall
Ben Peacock, Miami
Mark Pollak, Harvard
Brock Pompeani, Robert Morris
Andrews Pumariega, George Washington
Riley Pumphrey, Oklahoma
Scott Rainaud, Fairfield
Peter J. Reilly, Navy
Simon Reyers, Detroit Mercy
Stefan Richardson, Idaho
Tom Robson, Jacksonville State
James Ross, Houston
Sam Ryder, Stetson
Michael Sainz, Evansville
Matt Schovee, SMU
Lorenzo Scotto, Baylor
Justin Shin, New Mexico State
Cameron Simmons, Akron
John Skeadas III, Davidson
David Smith, South Dakota State
Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
Tyler Spinella, North Texas
Alex Stinson, Ball State
Brian Sunker, Fresno State
Julian Suri, Duke
Tom Usher, Notre Dame
Daniel Walker, Richmond
David Watkins, East Carolina
Andrew T. Wegeng, Butler
Rhys West, Southeastern Louisiana
Ben Westley, DePaul
James White, Georgia Tech
Thomas Wilde, Old Dominion
Scotty Williams, Penn
Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
Cory Williamson, Arkansas State
Pat Wilson, St. John’s
Charlie Winegardner, Coastal Carolina
Brad Winters, Valparaiso
Griffin Wood, Evansville
Chris Worrell, Tulsa
Curtis Yonke, Kansas State
Daily S. Young, Missouri State
Andrew Yun, Stanford


Contribute to AceNotes
To have content considered for inclusion in AceNotes, please submit a Marketing Request Form. Deadline for submission to AceNotes is 10:00 a.m. on the requested date of publication. Only articles concerning UE related/sponsored activities will be accepted. Articles submitted to AceNotes may be edited for length and clarity. Submitter contact information is at the end of each article.

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube

View Complete Issue