Mary Kessler has been appointed dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences at the University of Evansville, effective March 1.

Kessler began her career at the University in 1991 as a member of the faculty in the Department of Physical Therapy. She also served as that department’s chair for 17 years. Her leadership was instrumental in transitioning UE’s physical therapy program to an entry level doctoral degree program. She also helped develop the University’s AceCARE pro bono physical therapy clinic, and remains the organization’s faculty advisor and a volunteer.

Michael Cullen, senior vice president for academic affairs, noted, “Mary is dedicated to the mission of graduating young men and women who will lead informed, ethical, and productive lives. She is role model for students and faculty.”

“I know that Mary will continue to offer the outstanding leadership and vision that has characterized her career at UE, said UE president Thomas A. Kazee. “We’re fortunate to have someone of her ability, energy, and passion in this position.”

Kessler earned her bachelor’s degree in physical therapy from the University of Evansville. She earned her master’s in health science, with an emphasis on the treatment of neuromuscular conditions, from the University of Indianapolis.

Kessler has been the recipient of the University’s Global Scholar award, and the Dean’s Teaching Award for her outstanding teaching and work with students. She has also been a recipient of the Berger Award for Scholarly Activity, and the University’s Dean of Students Award for Advisor of the Year.

“I am honored to be able to serve the University in this capacity and to continue to work with the dedicated faculty and students in our College and the University community,” Kessler said. “I am looking forward to continuing to advance the mission of our college and prepare our students to become competent and caring service-oriented professionals.”

She is a member of many professional organizations, including the American Physical Therapy Association, Phi Beta Chi, honorary science fraternity, and the Community Advisory Council for the Indiana University School of Medicine - Evansville Campus.